How to Check Your Gold Jewellery for Purity? Complete Guide

India is the second-biggest consumer of gold in the world after China. The vintage heritage and cultural practices of gold in our country made people significantly buy gold.

Buying gold carries many benefits for people throughout life, for instance, they can easily apply for a loan from banks. In human life, yellow-metal played an essential role as demonstrate societal status and defining our standard of living.

The proletariat people throughout their life pursue to buy gold, especially for marriage time. Since the gold price has fallen lower in these couple of months, this intrigued many people aggressively toward buying gold.

Read more: Your definitive guide on buying gold jewellery in India

However, it is an equitable prerequisite to buy the purest yellow metal jewelry. Besides, malpractice is rampant in India. Thus, there are a high number of cases recorded against gold jewelry wrongdoing.

Perhaps one of the contingent reasons is the lack of proper certification regarding the yellow metal’s purity.

The Bureau of Indian Standard (BIS), a government body, certifies the purity of gold bought by you. Introduced process of certifying the purity of gold called is hallmarking.

In the context of hallmarking, there are two manifest principle objectives of this scheme:

  • To secure people in general against defilement
  • To commit producers to keep up legitimate norms of fineness/virtue.

In this blog, you will learn about the outwit points that help you check if the gold that you have purchased is pure or not.

Gold Jewellery

What is Hallmarking?

The government had an issue favorable noticed to all Indian gold-jewelers to necessarily get a license from BIS before they operate their jewelry or artifacts hallmarked. Further, the license can be registered and acquired at any of the BIS-recognized assaying and hallmarking centers. There are 877 such centers recognized by BIS – according to the past year’s report.

Simply put, hallmarking is a process of identifying the purity of jewellery. This is done through a sampling method, where a few pieces of jewelry in the entire batch are randomly tested for purity.

The nature of the process carried out is entirely undercover and very few authorized known about this.

But, in general, there is a most common way to judge the purity of your purchased gold. Here’s how to check…

The purity of gold is measured in caratage. Essentially, the gold jewelry manufacturer categories of caratage – 14K, 18K, 22K, and 24K. While the 24 carats (K) of gold is considered the purest form. As gold recognized as the most soften precious metal among all, thus it carries the characteristics into 24K gold jewelry.

To understand in a more simple way, the purity signifies at different caratage level is expressed in percentage whereby, 14K denotes 58.5% purity (hallmarked as 14K585), 18K denotes 75% purity (hallmarked as 18K750) and 22K denotes 91.6% purity (hallmarked as 22K916).

It is advised that one should doesn’t comply with the one common frequent method to judge the purity of gold ornaments.

Read more: Reasons to Buy Gold Jewellery

The BIS firmly mentioned the four major component one should look at on the hallmarked gold jewellery to ensure the purity of gold which are as follows:

  • BIS MarkPurity in Karat and fineness
  • Assaying and Hallmarking Centre’s identification mark/number
  • Jeweler’s Identification mark/number

A. See BIS Mark

Any gold jewellery accommodates the hallmarked BIS logo indicating that its purity is verified. Further, it is the only agency in India approved by the government hallmarking the gold artifacts which detonate its purity.

However, not all the gold pieces of jewelry are BIS hallmarked certified which means certainly not bear any BIS logo due to not all jewelers offer hallmarked BIS jewelry.

In case you walk any jewellery store you should ask first or must check with the jeweler whether they offer BIS hallmarking or not.

B. Acknowledge The Purity in Karat and Fineness

As we discussed earlier, hallmarking of gold ornaments is done only for the three levels of purity i.e., Karat includes:


Reflect 22 Karat


Reflect 18 Karat


Reflect 14 Karat

C. Assaying and Hallmarking Centre’s Identification Mark/Number

The Center’s Identification Mark or Number is the third element from which you can assess the purity of gold. Mainly, the only licensed laboratories of BIS can check the purity of gold.

It is important at the time of researching the purities of gold jewelry done by the BIS mandates required to put their logo on the jewellery.

D. Look Jeweler’s Identification Mark/Number

The last pinpoint of this whole discussion incorporates Jeweller’s identification number has to be mentioned on the gold jewelry. This mark can be of a BIS certified jeweler or jewelry manufacturer.

It’s the honored duty of jewellery shop owner to put its identification mark on the jewelry you buying for. For a bonus, you can easily explore the list of jewelers that are certified by the BIS by visiting the official BIS website.

Important Things to Remember:

  • There are charges that must be paid to get the gems hallmarked. According to the BIS site, Rs 35 or more assessments are charged per gold thing. For a transfer, at least Rs 200 or more duties are charged.
  • Hallmarking isn’t done quickly. It might take around five to six hours to get the virtue of gold checked before it is hallmarked.
  • In the event that you have a protest with respect to your hallmarked adornments, you can contact BIS by sending an email to [email protected]

In the end, with this entailed descriptive guide, anyone can now easily understand the gold jewelry purity. Probably, most of us visit local jewelry shops or premium jewels brand to buy gold ornaments especially around festive seasons like Dhanteras.

One can now even buy gold jewelry online as well. Visit Avarta Jewellery offers hallmarked certified gold jewelry ranging 18K, 22K, and 24K with quick door delivery services and prominent customer support services.

Comments are closed.